An Experiment

I’m trying to remember what it was like in the days before there was facebook.  I mean, I haven’t wasted too many hours since then updating things and changing things and writing on things . . . but . . . they’re still HOURS.  Hour is one of those grouping nouns like herd and flock. An hour wasted is sixty whole minutes!  I could have accomplished a goal in that time.  But then again if there wasn’t facebook, I’d still be wasting hours in Wal-Mart and Hastings wondering around looking at things I wish I could buy.

But facebook is not the reason I’m writing.  It’s only part of the whole thought that I’ve been thinking about all of these sites that take up time.  Can I really be productive anywhere on the internet besides the Bank of America website (that’s debatable as well)?  Well, if you’re a writer you can.  If you are a writer like me, you can use a blog spot to expand your repertoire and hone your craft.  If you like to write, you now have access to an audience that’s exponentially larger than your tenth grade English class.  Will they be reading?  I don’t know, but you can start with people you know and work your way up from there.

And that’s why I’m here, folks.  I want to expand my repertoire.  I want to hone my craft.  I want people I know who might be interested in reading what I have to say to have access to my work.  In the past, I’ve used Myspace to blog.  It was good, but sites like this seem more professional.  I can now be like everyone else by over-saturating people’s minds with every single insignificant activity and thought in which I am engaged.  If you didn’t know before that I had a blog, it is now going to be plastered right in front of your face.  You’re Welcome 😉

Seriously, though, I want the internet to be a productive place for me.  I don’t want to look at the hours past and think, “Holy Bologna . . . where has all the time gone?”  I want to feel that sense of accomplishment every time I push that little blue button that says Publish.  It may not be lucrative, but it’s still fun.  I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

And if You Keep Reading . . . I‘ll Keep Writing

p.s. If you comment, let me know if I should start off with a greatest hits of some of my Myspace blogs.  Some of you may not have read them.

3 thoughts on “An Experiment

  1. I would love to read anything you wrote!! Always crackin me up cuz!! I wish I had your talent!! I’m only good with girls.. 😉

  2. I read your blog. You got me with the title: “Before There Was Facebook” posted in a fb update.

    It’s hard to remember what it was like before we were massively connected. You are a great writer, and if this will help you “hone your craft,” more power to you! I recently started mine too, to hone my craft. Photoblog: http://carolinemholt.wordpress.com/

    I haven’t made it public yet.

Leave a Reply

