Late

2.  What am I going to write about here on my blog?

I have a few first-time readers coming. If you are just tuning in, the number “2” is a continuation from the last time I wrote on my blog.  It was a long time ago.  If you want to read up, you can see what was going on in my life during the month of June.  And now I’m checking back in . . . and it’s late.  My mother (and my grandpa and my band director and my ex-girlfriends) says that I’ll be late for my own funeral.  I don’t see why that would be a problem for me, but I get it.

Anyhow, It’s nice to know that someone will be reading for sure.  My teacher, at least 🙂  The problem is I have to figure out what it is I want to write about so I can make this thing interesting for that someone.

I will be contacting an author soon (late there again), and the one that has caught my interest lately is Neil Gaiman.  I haven’t read much, and I’m kicking myself for waiting so long.  I’m also kicking myself because the man came to UCA and I was not there.  For the life of me, I cannot remember the reason I missed that, but it must have been important.  (I must have been running late.)  Now that I am familiar with his work, I want to be like him.  His is the style I would like to emulate.  And we all take from something we know; something we like.  I don’t want to plagiarize (he’s already dealing with someone else “stealing” his work).  I just want to have a voice as strong as his in my work.  I guess it sounds like something I would write, and that’s why I like it.  Maybe I’ll tell him that.

YKR
IKW

p.s.  For all newcomers and anyone else who still does not know what my signoff means, it’s quite simple.  When I started writing blogs on myspace, I continually encouraged people that read my posts to “keep reading and I would keep writing”:

http://blogs.myspace.com/funkmastapic

Then, I just abbreviated it.

Leave a Reply

