What Have I Been Waiting For?

The right time?  Well the time is now.  I kind of want to apologize for procrastinating, but I could also just, you know, not procrastinate.  I’ll go with that.

Believe it or not, I found encouragement from a fellow YouTuber.  In one of his episodes, he asks the audience what keeps them from doing the things they want to do, i.e. their pet projects.  He said that many people are hindered by the desire for perfection.  That really hit home with me, because I like to be good at something right away.  I don’t know why that is, because I never have been.  When I started playing the tuba, I was bad.  I had a basic knowledge of music, but that only took me as far as rhythm and counting.  It didn’t teach me how to create a full-sounding tone or articulate the notes using my tongue to manipulate the air coming through my mouth and into the horn.  That took years to perfect.  And now I sit in front of a computer screen or pull my chair up to the kitchen table with pen and paper and expect to just pour out beautiful material that everyone will want to read and share with their friends.  No.  It’s lousy, unedited, jumbled crap, and it discourages me.  Yep.

So how do we fix this problem?  Well, another thing I could do is stop seeing everything as a problem with a concrete solution that when applied will fix everything and the “problem” will go away.  (Is that a guy thing?)  This will take a lot of time and a lot of doing.  Staring at a blank page worrying about the perfect opening line will not get me my Pulitzer Prize.  I will commit to this blog and make a reachable goal for myself.  One post a week, no matter how long or how short.  I like a thousand words, but sometimes life happens and we don’t have time for that 1500 word masterpiece on understanding the intricacies of nerddom (coming soon).  This week, I have time for talking about what’s on my mind.  Tada.

As far as I know, it’s not necessary to conceal the identity of the YouTuber that inspired me.  I’m not making money off of his ideas.  The funny thing is, it’s not even a new idea.  It was just presented in a fresh way from a new perspective, and that’s really what we all need sometimes.  So, thanks to Craig Benzine aka Wheezy Waiter for inspiring me to do what I want and to try and not think so hard about being perfect.  If you’re interested in seeing this video here’s the link

Perfection 101:

http://www.youtube.com/user/wheezywaiter#p/u/303/g24lvQajwWM

and here’s his website:

http://www.wheezywaiter.com

I’m mean he’s just a regular guy that has fun making videos.  There are lots of people who make quality stuff, and he recommends them in his videos as well.  Check it out.  See you next week.

YKR
IKW

Leave a Reply

