At the Risk of Being Redundant . . . Again

It’s another football season.  Each year I think I’m not going to enjoy watching as much as the year before, but then the sounds of the kickoff resonate through the home theater speakers and I just can’t help myself.  It’s exhilarating.  And it’s surprising every year.  Sure there are powerhouse teams that are consistent, but sometimes they slip and they have a 5-7 season for no good reason.  And there are sometimes the teams that have a history of being mediocre or even doormats but a spark ignites and suddenly they are 6-0 for the first time since I’ve been alive (that’s nearly thirty years, folks).  But through thick and thin, you must be loyal to your team.  It’s important.

So here comes the part where I explain my loyalties and why I like the teams I like.  Yes, I’ve done it all already!  Yet for some reason, it’s still on my mind.  This post is not only for everyone that is still asking me who are my favorite teams are, it’s actually for me as well.  I want this published so it is official.  This is me carving my feelings into the picnic tables.  This is my top five in order.

1) UCA
Yes, thank you for reminding me yet again that they are not an FBS school.  my hope, however, is that on day they will be.  But it would also be cool if they have another year like 2008 where they unofficially won the conference (they were the top team but still not eligible for the postseason).  I mean FCS has a national championship AND a playoff system.  That’s one up on the bigger schools in my opinion.

SCHOOL I HATE BECAUSE I ATTENDED UCA: MCNEESE STATE
(used to be Arkansas Tech, but then we moved up a division)

2)OU
Oklahoma University is my favorite FBS team.  Yes, I said it.  I know most of you would expect me to say Oregon, but by my own standards, it is important to show loyalty to the school where my father and several other family members have attended.

SCHOOL I HATE BECAUSE THEY WEAR UGLY COLORS:  TEXAS

3) UO
I fell in love with the state of Oregon around the same time I fell in love with football.  They just go hand-in-hand, I suppose.  Plus, I like their coach, I love their uniforms (each and every combination), and the duck is just a nice animal.
I do have a question, though.  Is the rivalry between the Beavers and the Ducks as full of hatred as some of the more popular rivalries like OSU-Michigan or BAMA-AUBURN or UT-OU?  If you’re in those places long enough, you find out how these people feel about their rivals.  I didn’t get any of that in Oregon.  Maybe it’s because they’re all hippies.  If someone knows, please fill me in.

SCHOOL I HATE BECAUSE . . . WELL EVERYONE HATES THEM:  USC

That’s the top 3.  Spots four and five were tough to decide, because they were so close.

4) ARKANSAS
As I said before, I struggled with acknowledging my favor of Arkansas because I didn’t go there.  I was raised on OU.  I was born in Oklahoma.  However, I’ve spent the majority of my life in this great state, and I am proud of it.  Arkansas is a great home, and they have great football fans.  So great in fact that a teenage boy can grow up entirely on the west coast and the second he becomes an Arkansas resident, he is consumed with Hog Fever (it sounds serious because it is).  Arkansas fandom is like a virus that no one knows the cure for.  You can be resistant of it at first, but eventually it will take you over.  Only stipulation though, I will not call the Hogs.  I will act like it, but I won’t do it.  As much as I love football, I have to believe that someday UCA and Arkansas will play each other.  When that time comes, I will admit that I had indeed called the hogs once, but it was when I was in sixth grade and I didn’t know any better.

SCHOOL EVERY ARKANSAS FAN SHOULD HATE ON GENERAL PRINCIPLE:
LSU

5) ALABAMA
I like Alabama mostly because of their great coaches.  Paul “Bear” Bryant was born in Arkansas, and he was one of the greatest football coaches of all time.  People in Alabama idolize him.  They tattoo his face on their backs and name their children after him.  Now, the head coach of Alabama is Nick Saban.  He is one of the top five active coaches in the nation.  He’s good because he is always trying to improve his teams, even after victories.
Also, I was made an honorary member of the Bryant family.  You don’t take that kind of thing lightly.

SCHOOL EVERY BAMA FAN HATES:  AUBURN

Well that was my attempt to clear things up for you all (and myself).  If there is any confusion left . . . well . . . ask me again next season.  I may have changed my mind about calling those Hogs.  (not likely)

YKR
IKW

Leave a Reply

