Twenty-six Cents

Today’s prompt asked me to search my couch cushions, find a coin, and tell a story about the year on that coin.  I found two coins.  One is dated 2013 and the other 2001.

2013 was a significant year for me because it was the year that I got out of pizza.  I had been working a Papa John’s for over seven years, and I had hoped to leave after about year two.  However, that job was the perfect job for me at that time in my life.  But after I finally finished a degree and turned 30, I knew it was time for me to move on.  So two years ago on Valentine’s Day I went to Little Rock for my orientation with Securitas.  On the way home from that, my car broke down, and that was the last time I drove that car out of Conway.  I later sold it and bought my Honda.

In 2013, I also started making changes in my diet that would lead to me losing a significant amount of weight.  This was to my benefit of course, but I did choke on a turkey burger once and my boss had to give me the Heimlich.  That was cool I guess.

I decided to do two years because I wanted the post to be longer than 200 words, and the first coin I found was the 2013 quarter.  I seemed like they were trying to get me to dig deeper than 2 years ago, although I am surprised that all that I’ve been away from pizza for that long.  Time flies I guess.

2001 was a significant year because that was when I pledged my fraternity.  Spring semester of my first year of college, eight of us kids traversed the education period of the Epsilon Beta chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi.  I made some significant relationships that year that are still strong today.  I don’t know what my life would have been like if I hadn’t done it, but I would not change it.  That was also the year that my family moved from Yuba City, CA to Portland, OR, so that summer was the last summer I went to Sierra Bible Camp.  I spent that Christmas in Portland, and it’s still  one of my favorite Christmases.  I was partly the beauty of Oregon, which I fell in love with, and that fact that this was a new place, and my family and I were looking to all the things that were familiar and comfortable to us so we didn’t feel out of place.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Buffalo Nickel.”

Leave a Reply

