Saturday Morning Car Tunes

Well, I did try and sleep in today, but that not an activity exclusive to Saturdays.  If were talking ideal activities, though, my favorite Saturday mornings are when I get up early and go somewhere.  It does not matter where, but it is best to be going with someone.  A few Saturdays ago, I went to Bentonville with my girlfriend and we spent the day driving around Northwest Arkansas and taking in the sights.  She met me at my house at 7, I made breakfast, and she prepared mix CDs for the trip. The sun was out, the clouds were gone, and the I couldn’t have asked for better company.  That’s my ideal Saturday morning.

There have been times when I have indulged in some extra sleep on Saturdays.  I imagine many of you reading this would probably scoff at the idea of me going anywhere before noon, let alone getting dressed.  But the older I get, the more I want to make memories on my free days.  (Side note, a great way to sound old is to use the phrase “the older I get”.)

Another activity I very much enjoy on a Saturday morning is gathering with a group to do work.  I have always enjoyed the feeling of camaraderie that I experience with friends to perform a task.  One Saturday I ran around a small town in Arkansas with some friends from work and dodged zombies.  Once I gathered with my fraternity brothers to dig some holes in a lady’s back yard.  When I was section leader in band in college, my section and I would have tuba breakfast early on game day and then meet up for a sectional before dress rehearsal.  There was a fair amount of goofing off during those sectionals, and sometimes we would get around to actual work.  The point of it all was to make us closer as a group.  As a result, we were the best section in the entire band every year, and anyone that tells you differently is lying and jealous.

Not every Saturday morning will be filled with memorable activities, though.  Sometimes you have a massive sleep debt from the previous week, and you have a little catching up to do.  Sometimes, if you’re like me, you chose to stay in because it’s cold and you went all over the state the weekend before.  I need a good balance of activity and non activity in my life or I will start to go crazy.  Too little and I get depressed.  Too much and I will be overwhelmed.  My plan for the future is to take a Saturday trip soon and see some of the folks I have been wanting to see for a long time.  I’ll get up, make a good breakfast, program a playlist, and hopefully drive my car.  Fingers crossed that the weather doesn’t hinder me.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Me Time.”

One thought on “Saturday Morning Car Tunes

  1. Pingback: The Ideal Saturday Morning. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

