Dangerous Attractions

You don’t get to be as successful as I have been in my life by holding on to the “What-Ifs” and the “Coulda-Shoulda-Wouldas”.  Before you know it they’ll stack up and cloud your mind.  You want to always be looking forward, planning for success and returning to the plate every time it’s your turn; adjusting your stance and never taking your eye off the ball.  But even if you’re a motivational speaker and you earn your money by selling people the success tips of life, you’re still going to forget to follow your own advice.  Now and then you’ll catch yourself pining over past failures and yearning for just one more swing.  For me, on nights when I’m alone and I’ve had one too many scotches, the thing I think of is the park.

One might say I was over prepared on this venture.  I had the finest minds of each field collaborating.  The design was flawless, all the way down to the amenities inside the guest transport vehicles.  We literally spared no expense.  And the attractions . . . there was to be none like them.  All that was needed to go forward and to bring my creation to the public was the endorsement of an expert.  He simply needed to come and experience the park himself and see how safe and the secure the facility was and all my dreams, and the dreams of millions around the world, were to come true.

Well, needless to say everything that could have gone wrong did.  I should have known things weren’t going to go well from the beginning when the attractions didn’t work the way they were supposed to.  They were either incapacitated or were not visible to the guests.  Then a tropical storm hit and the power went out.  And no, the storm was no responsible for the power outage.  It was actually the fault of one of my employees who turned it off intentionally so he could get past security and steal company property.  As a result of this power outage, the park facilities were heavily damaged.  One attraction broke through a wire fence and smashed one of the guest vehicles.  Unfortunately, the attorney representing the insurance company was a casualty of this incident.  My grandchildren made it safely to guest operations but not completely unscathed.  One of them was electrocuted.

While attempting to restore the power and bring the park’s systems back online, two of my employees lost their lives and one guest was injured.  By this time the attractions were out of control and a danger to us all.  We were all able to escape the grounds just as the attractions destroyed each other.

So, no, I am not happy with the way things turned out.  If I were given a second chance though, here are some things I would do differently:

1.  I would not hire a hacker slob who looks like Newman from Seinfeld
2.  I’ll maybe spare a couple bucks on the fancy cd roms and build reinforced steel fences.  None of this wimpy power cable stuff.
3.  Children will not be allowed in the park before it is tested and approved.

Here’s to moving forward.  Hopefully those following in my footsteps will learn from my mistakes.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “But No Cigar.”

Leave a Reply

